“I pursued my enemies and overtook them, and did not turn back till they were consumed.

I thrust them through, so that they were not able to rise;they fell under my feet.

For you equipped me with strength for the battle; you made those who rise against me sink under me.

You made my enemies turn their backs to me, and those who hated me I destroyed.

They cried for help, but there was none to save; they cried to the LORD, but he did not answer them.

I beat them fine as dust before the wind; I cast them out like the mire of the streets.”  (Psalm 18:37-42)

King David was a dude’s dude.  He picked fights, and he “beat them fine as dust”.  Why is this commendable?  Because it was passionate obedience to God.  He was not a weak-wristed church boy.  God “equipped [David]  with strength for battle”.  God “made those who rise against me sink under me.”  And God ignored David’s enemies when they cried to him. 

I commend you men to be like David in his passionate obedience to God.  This is not a license to pulvarize every punk that doesn’t meet your fancy, but it does mean that you can “heap coals on their heads” by giving them water when their thirsty, food when their hungry, clothes when they are cold.  Equally brutal.  King David was a B.C. ultimate fighter who loved Jesus.  What has happened to our men?

